Skip to main content



Friday, November 12, 2021 

A declaration, promoted by the UK at the COP26 UN Climate Conference, has endorsed the 'Green Corridor' plans put forward in a recently-published study by the Getting To Zero Coalition, and has been signed by representatives of 22 nations, including several large shipowning countries and a major flag state, the Marshall Islands.

A statement on the UK Government website says that the signatories of the Declaration - referred to as the 'Clydebank Declaration' - are to support the establishment of green shipping corridors, i.e. zero-emission maritime routes between two (or more) ports.

The statement continues: "It is our collective aim to support the establishment of at least six green corridors by the middle of this decade, while aiming to scale activity up in the following years, by inter alia supporting the establishment of more routes, longer routes and/or having more ships on the same routes. It is our aspiration to see many more corridors in operation by 2030. We will assess these goals by the middle of this decade, with a view to increasing the number of green corridors."

In the pursuit of these goals, the signatories are pledging to:

  • facilitate the establishment of partnerships, with participation from ports, operators and others along the value chain, to accelerate the decarbonisation of the shipping sector and its fuel supply through green shipping corridor projects
  • identify and explore actions to address barriers to the formation of green corridors. This could cover, for example, regulatory frameworks, incentives, information sharing or infrastructure
  • consider the inclusion of provisions for green corridors in the development or review of National Action Plans
  • work to ensure that wider consideration is taken for environmental impacts and sustainability when pursuing green shipping corridors.

The 21 signatories in addition to the UK are: Australia, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain. Sweden and the US.

Reader Comments (0)

There are currently no comments on this article. Why not be the first and leave your thoughts below.

Leave Your Comment

Please keep your comment on topic, any inappropriate comments may be removed.

Return to index